A Little Taste of Home

I’ve been in Portland for two weeks now (YAY!)  Over these two weeks, I am still adjusting to the daily routine, finding my way around town and making friends (still working on that one). Through all the changes, I needed something constant, something that I knew I was good at, and something that could keep me relatively busy.  Since moving here, I have made Zach dinner every night – before you freak out, I love cooking, and as his soon-to-be wife, I love the idea of cooking for him. Cooking and baking are therapeutic and relaxing to me. I enjoy these things and I find that they bring a piece of home, to my new home. There are some recipes – when made – that transport me back to my mum’s kitchen in Calgary. Specifically this recipe that I’m sharing today.

slide1

Now I know, everyone says that they have the best chocolate chip cookie recipe. But, I really do. I have yet to find it’s equal, except when my mum makes them – there is something about mum’s making you cookies. Filled with love. I try to replicate that love whenever I make these cookies.

I also got to use my new measuring cups and spoons (YAY! I get excited over cooking utensils and tools). One tool that I really missed was my Kitchen Aid Mixer. So, this batch of cookies were made with some extra love and elbow grease as I combined all the ingredients by a spatula and fork.

slide2 slide3

Now, I know that you’re supposed to separate your wet and dry ingredients and then combine together. But, I am lazy and I don’t want to dirty more dishes than necessary. I only separate the wet and dry ingredients when it is completely necessary. Other than that, I throw everything in a bowl (#rebel). So far, I haven’t ruined any recipe through piling it all in one bowl 🙂

slide4 slide5

My mum is a chocoholic – except when she was pregnant with me, but that’s another story – so she adds in more chocolate that most recipes ask for. Watching her bake, I picked up some of her tendencies, like adding more chocolate. Even though mum loves chocolate, I don’t. At all.

slide6

So you must be wondering why me -someone who doesn’t like chocolate – says these are the best chocolate chip cookies? Well I think that since I don’t eat chocolate I have become a good judge of chocolate flavoured foods.

slide7 slide9

Or, I like to think I have become one since I don’t indulge in it – often.

slide8

One of my guilty pleasures is eating cookie dough. I know that you aren’t supposed to eat a lot of it. But, I can’t help it. Once you try these cookies, you won’t be able to resist the dough either 😉

slide10

Anyway, enough talking, here is the recipe.

Enjoy!

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups of flour
1 1/2 cups of brown sugar
1 cup of Golden Crisco
1 tsp of salt
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of vanilla
2 eggs
1 cup of chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Recipe: 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. In a bowl, cream together Golden Crisco and brown sugar
  3. In a separate bowl (or like me, in the same bowl as above) combine flour, salt and baking soda
  4. Add eggs and vanilla to the wet ingredients, then combine the dry ingredients
  5. Mix together, and add chocolate chips (I pour a little more than a cup in)
  6. Scoop out cookies (whatever size you want. I find a Tablespoon works or a medium cookie scoop)
  7. Place on greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes
  8. Enjoy (hot from the oven or cool) with some milk

slide12 slide13

P.s. Thanks Crisco for this great recipe, my family loves it.

5 thoughts on “A Little Taste of Home

Leave a Reply

